NeiPathiri (Fried Pathiri) with Chicken Curry

Did the name sound complicated?No worries!!Name it whatever way you like.As far as I am concerned,ny basic law in cooking is “There is no law in cooking,I’ll do as I feel like doing”.It feels good when you see mustard seeds running here n there in your chicken curry, in your fish curry..People ask me,”Why are you so stupid?Adding mustard seeds in chicken curr?,HA Ha”.I find it strange.I dn’t reply to such dumbos who think that I am dumb enough to add ingredients that will ruin my dish.Sometimes I add a particular ingredient to dish,sometimes I dn’t..When I am asked”Why”,I answer,”WHY NOT???”

 

This is basically  a Malabar dish..Tasty,yet an easy one to prepare..More importantly,this tastes best when fried in coconut oil…mmmmm…..yummy!!!

We’ll need,

Roasted Rice flour-2 cup

Water-1 1/2 -1 3/4cup

Grated Coconut-1/2 cup

Small onion(kunjulli)-3-4 nos

Cumin seeds-1/4 tspn

Black Sesame seeds-1/2 -3/4 tspn

Salt-1/4 tspn

Oil-2 tspn

 

Coarse grind coconut,small onions and cumin seeds.Place water in a pan over heat and when it comes to boiling heat,add salt,oil,and grounded mixture.When it boils again,add rice flour and stir well with a spatula.Add sesmae seeds .Remove from heat and keep covered.After 5 mnts,when the dough is cool enough to be kneaded(Take care that the dough is still warm,else the dish will not turn up good).Knead well for 10 mnts until soft.

 

Make big lemon sized balls.Roll the dough into medium thickness and size of puris.Deep fry them,until golden brown,or until the pathiri puffs out( as you’ld do for puri).Serve hot!!

 

 

 

  1. I would like to try this…

    • Krips
    • July 31st, 2008

    da mouth watering one man!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    adipoli chicken!!!

  1. March 2nd, 2010

Leave a Reply

