Bittergourd: The bitter, the better !!!

I see people’s faces turn bitter when they hear about bitter gourd.Is it really that bad???Hmm,for some reason,I had always liked this vegtable.My mother makes thoran with bittergourd,with lot of coconut,mmmm,thatz really tasty.Though my husband don’t like the idea of having bitter gourd,after 2 yrs of living together,we have happily integrated it into our menu.Now he is the one who asks me while at grocery,”Hey,are you not buying this bittergourd.This one seems less bitter”:-) (light coloured ones are usually less bitter)   

Bitter gourds are very low in calories but dense with precious nutrients.  It is an excellent source of vitamins B1, B2, and B3, C, magnesium, folic acid, zinc, phosphorus, manganese, and has high dietary fiber.  It is rich in iron, contains twice the beta-carotene of broccoli, twice the calcium of spinach, and twice the potassium of a banana.Bitter melon contains a unique phyto-constituent that has been confirmed to have a hypoglycemic effect called charantin.  There is also another insulin-like compound known as polypeptide P which have been suggested as insulin replacement in some diabetic patients.

 

Read more

http://www.juicing-for-health.com/bitter-gourd-benefits.html

http://yedda.com/questions/Bittergourd_bitter_better_Health_1490192104555/

 

 

Here is a hot-hot dish.Trust me,it doesn’t taste bitter.Just wash your cut gourd pieces in a solution of turmeric powder and salt.This will help in better cleaning and also,removing the bitterness of the vegetable,Also,the sugar added to the dish greatly enhances the flavour,thereby taking away all the bitterness!

 

We’ll need

 

Bitter gourd- 1

Onion-1

Tomato-1

Green chillies-3-5

Small onion-4 nos

Ginger-garlic(sliced)-1 tbspn

Tamarind-small lemon sized

Kashmiri chilly powder-2 tbspn

Turmeric powder-1/2 tspn

Fennel seeds-1/4 tspn

Sugar-1/2 tspn

 

 

Cut and clean gourd pieces.Heat oil in a pan and splutter mustard seeds.Add sliced onions,ginger-garlic-green chillies and curry leaves.Add sugar.Keep stirirng until oinion turns brown.Now add washed gourd pieces.Saute until they become tender and side starts to become brown.Add half of diced tomato pieces.In a mixer,grind together chilly powder,turmeric powder,small onions,fennel seeds and remaining half of the tomato.Add this to sautng mixture in the pan.When it comes to boil,add tamarind pulp(soak tamarind in water for 5-10 mnts).Add salt..Now cook on low flame until gravy thickens..Trust me,this is a very easy and tasty dish,best one with least bitterness of bitter gourd:-)Good luck!!

 

 

 

Half-way through the process

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  1. Ya Allah, Nimmy! That vegetable is so bitter! Just thinking about the bitterness is making my face turn funny. When I put that in my mouth, I like it but then the saltyness hits me so I stop eating haha. My abba and amma love eating that stuff though : )

    How are you, sis?

    • Nimmy
    • August 14th, 2008

    Hey Princess of Ramadan section:-)

    Thank you so much for visitng and for your comment.Yeah,indeed its too bitter.But some tricks can amke it taste good and also,its too healthy.”long time no see??”:-)

    • Priya
    • August 24th, 2008

    Haha, sis, you still remember me and my long name? : ) I’m very happy. I no longer answer in Ramadan Section (I cant take the bashing anymore) but I went there the other day and saw your name, clicked it and visited you blog. Quite interesting, I must say.

    How are you Sister Nimmy? 😛

    • Nimmy
    • August 24th, 2008

    @Princess,you are not forgotten anyday,bcoz of guess what??”LLOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOl” ha ha

    Im fine..I hope you are doing fine!Salam

  2. one more thing in common… i too like bitter gourd, specially when cooked by mom

  3. hi nimmy,i have a small confusion in this bitter gourd,when u soak the bitter gourd in salt n turmeric water,if the bitter goes,does the nutrition in bitter gourd also goes? plz reply to my id plz

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

