Christmas wishes and some glimpses of my small garden

Cancel Christmas – Jesus was born June 17, say scientists

 

 

It may not be too late to send the presents back, as astronomers have calculated that Christmas should not be celebrated on December 25 – but on June 17 instead.

Researchers tracked the appearance of the ‘Christmas star’, which the Bible states three wise men followed to find Jesus.

Australian stargazer Dave Reneke used complex computer software to chart the exact positions of all celestial bodies and map the night sky as it would have appeared over the Holy Land more than 2,000 years ago[more..]

 

Though I knew that December 25 the had nothing to do with Jesus Christ’s birthday,this was an update information on the topic. The New Testament gives no date or year for Jesus’ birth. So how come we celebrate Dec 25th as birthday?

 

In Rome December 25 was made popular by Pope Liberius in 354 and became the rule in the West in 435 when the first “Christ mass” was officiated by Pope Sixtus III. This coincided with the date of a celebration by the Romans to their primary god, the Sun, and to Mithras, a popular Persian sun god supposedly born on the same day. The Roman Catholic writer Mario Righetti candidly admits that, “to facilitate the acceptance of the faith by the pagan masses, the Church of Rome found it convenient to institute the 25th of December as the feast of the birth of Christ to divert them from the pagan feast, celebrated on the same day in honor of the ‘Invincible Sun’ Mithras, the conqueror of darkness” (Manual of Liturgical History, 1955, Vol. 2, p. 67). [more..]

 

Many of the most popular Christmas customs – including Christmas trees, mistletoe, Christmas presents, and Santa Claus – are modern incarnations of the pagan rituals ..But nevermind,it is not the date ,but the intention and faith behind it..I already celebrated Christmas yesterday by baking and gulping a cake..And I wish you all a Merry Christmas..Please take a piece from my cake and have a great day ahead..

 

 

Carrot-n-apple-cake

Carrot 'n' Apple cake

 

Okra/Lady's Finger Flower

Okra/Lady's Finger Flower

 

Ripe Okra/Lady's Finger

Ripe Okra/Lady's Finger

 

Cucumber Flowers

Cucumber Flowers

 

Pumpkin

Pumpkin

 

 

Potato Plants

Potato Plants

 

 

Cow Pea/Payar

Cow Pea/Payar

 

 

Green chilly/pepper & Spinach sprouts

Green chilly/pepper & Spinach sprouts

 

 

Bitter Gourd

Bitter Gourd

`

 

🙂  Don’t think that I have lot of space here..Just a few pots and a square metre soil space..But I am too greedy about gardening.I have put coriander,methi seeds for germination,tomato,water melon lots lots more.Well,I hope atleast a few of them come up..I hope my plants will bear fruits and will give me lot of happiness..Ameeeeeeeeen…lol…

 

 

Good day to all

  1. I love carrot cake….!! 😀

  2. Merry christmas Nimmy! Your cake looks delicious!

    Yes, the reason Christmas mas celebrated on 25th of Dec was supposed to be ‘ “to facilitate the acceptance of the faith by the pagan masses, the Church of Rome found it convenient to institute the 25th of December as the feast of the birth of Christ to divert them from the pagan feast, celebrated on the same day in honor of the ‘Invincible Sun’ Mithras, the conqueror of darkness” . There is a similar parallel for Easter as well apparently.

    Anyways, as you say, any reason to spread cheer and happiness, should be good 🙂

    Your garden looks lovely. My mom is like this – utilizing every bit of garden space! Reminds me of her Kitchen garden.

  3. Santa has left something special for you on my blog here!

    Some bloggers give us Hope. They are bloggers who care, for ALL THE CITIZENS of this World. These bloggers can see above the generalizations of Caste, Community, Religion, Language, Region, Race and National boundaries. They are the hope of our UNITY IN DIVERSITY. This Special Award is very close to my heart.

    Merry Christmas 🙂

  4. I have heard of this… actually not June, some other, I don’t remember…

    Wishing you a HAPPY and PROSPEROUS 2009

    PRADEEP

  5. hey!!! some things are build on faith not logic….christmas is fun as your cake aptly shows.

    and the garden looks beautiful….am so J…..

    Merry christmas!!! have fun.

  6. You do so much gardening! It involves a lot of hard work and something I keep telling myself I will do one day!
    merry christmas and a happy new year!

  7. Merry Christmas … I don’t mind celebrating two Christmas days in a year lol 😀

    an yea, good garden you have, make sure that you post more photos later, when they grow 😀

  8. Merry christmas to you Nimmy 🙂
    I always love to maintain garden.. I have done that some 8 to 10 before.. Now-a-days when I thought about it, I am telling to myself ‘You have so much important 😉 work to than this’ to hide my laziness… LOL 😀

  9. Wow!! u do have a wonderful garden. Merry Xmas!

  10. U actually made that cake???? and how sadistic of you to put it here and make people drool over it? 😉 DO you have any idea how much I lovvvee cakes??? 😦

    Merry Xmas to you too.

    Your garden looks good, but the best part is I dont understand anything !!!

  11. Merry Xmas …..n the cake looks really delicious…we made 2 chocolate cakes 😀 ( my younger ones made )

    n good garden..!!
    n they will give u good fruits ! 🙂

  12. Beautiful plants!!! And that cake seems yummy. 🙂
    Merry Christmas!

  13. Merry Christmas. That’s quite a garden you got out there?

  14. Love that cake. And envy your time management skills, how do you find time for sleeping, gardening and blogging ?

    Thatz so flattering dear ..lol…I am a bad time manager 😉 It just keep going..bottom line is that i am interested in doing all this and hence time comes in its own way,just like that..I hardly sleep these days..Blog addiction is on high fever -Nimmy

    • Najeeb
    • January 3rd, 2009

    Hi Nimmy,

    So you are back!

    Can you post the recipe of that Carrot ‘n’ Apple cake? It looks nice.

    Merry Christmas & Happy New Year to You and your family

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

