Which is more wrong..’to expect’ or ‘not to expect’?

They say KARMANYEVADHIKARASTE MAA PHALESHU KADACHANA (Seek to perform your duty; but lay not claim to its fruits).

I believe that no human being in this world does anything ,without expectation of something.May it be monetary reward,may it be other kind,or may it be even a smile. . How can you make someone a tea,and return back contently,without him/her not even returning a smile,or even a look..How do you help your friend,without him/her not even returning you a smile ..Without expectation of not even a smile of content,what is the motivational factor that drives you to perform a duty or task,or even a favour..Are we humans that mechanical?I am not,and that makes my life miserable…I am overcommited and that makes my life miserable..I am over caring and that makes my life miserable..I am over enthusiastic,and that makes my life miserable..

Maybe I myself is more miserable..

What did I say?

  1. Scriptures are filled with just follow words. Don’t give a thought about them. What Krishna speaks in Gita or Prophet Mohammad speak in Quran was through there divine experince. That experience matters, words are hollow. Life is miserable when you live in past or future… Just do what you feel good πŸ™‚

      • Nimmy
      • March 9th, 2010

      πŸ™‚ ……

  2. God resides as the ‘I’ in us. This ‘I ness’ is free from death. It is not hard to notice that the only thing that has not changed in us since birth (infact even before birth) is this ‘I ness’. This ‘I’ is absolute, while the world is only its reflection. Everything comes from this ‘I ness’ and everything merges back in it.

    Those seeking to realize this deathless ‘I’ need to sacrifice the limited ‘I’ or ego. This ego is our only hurdle to realization. Let go of the limited self and seek the One Self that illuminates all ekaatma sarva bhootantaratma. And those looking to realize this have to get out of this vicious loop of expectation – like the dog chasing its own tail.

      • Nimmy
      • March 9th, 2010

      πŸ™‚ Thoughtful…

  3. Cheer up; it’s not so bad. As you get older, you tend to ‘care’ less and less. And therefore, feel less miserable.

    On the issue of doing something without expecting a return, some people do good for the satisfaction of doing good seems to give.

  4. I meant, for the sense of satisfaction that doing good seems to give. sorry was typing in a rush

      • Nimmy
      • March 9th, 2010

      No worries dear..Typos are my trademark… “As you get older, you tend to β€˜care’ less and less” I think its the reverse for me..I am growing more sensitive day by day… 😦

  5. Surely some motivation is needed in our life and we like to have our work recognized.. I always want that…. some times if I get satisfied.. then thats ok.. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  6. eh?

    Nimmy, expectations are good… we need motivation like how Kanagu says…
    It’s ncie to strive towards not-expecting-anything-in-return philosophy, but, since we are human and when these expectations make us happy, its ok I guess… since being happy is what we all strive towards at some level or the other!

    {hugs}

    • Well, its really difficult for a beginner. We mite go upto that level some day. I take it more as not thinking abt anything a lot when I am done with it and am waiting for the results πŸ˜‰ Nt in my hands na isliye πŸ˜‰
      Cheers Nimmy πŸ™‚

        • Nimmy
        • March 9th, 2010

        πŸ™‚ ((hugs))

      • Nimmy
      • March 9th, 2010

      “being happy is what we all strive towards at some level or the other!”..so true.. Thanks dear… ((hugs))

  7. I know what is more wrong; the spelling of ‘wrong’ in the title ! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  8. I think it basically means one mustn’t stop doing what is right because one isn’t happy with the results – that is a regular excuse all Indians use πŸ˜‰

    One sees women (specially women) are expected to sacrifice and give up their happiness for their families happiness and then expected to be happy with their lives. Here I feel – they should only do what they can comfortably do and beyond that they must delegate and demand. If they are not giving up all their happiness and health and comfort they won’t mind too much if the family is ungrateful (most families take the female members for granted after some initial gratitude)- they would have only done what they could without stifling themselves and what was a pleasure for them.

    No sacrifice, no regrets πŸ˜†

    • Women need to give a kick to all MCPs in the world.
      Thank god I have a elder sister who made me realise that women need to be respected( by giving me ‘kicks ‘ during my kinder years!!)
      Jokes apart, the Bhagwat Geeta says that work for the love of it, don’t work for the heck of it!

    • PG
    • March 17th, 2010

    I have found words can always, and I really mean ALWAYS, be interpreted, especially if used without context. Tghere is a lot of good in this too depending on how you intrerpret it. I gues I am not that good at words to tell you what. May<be this is not your phrase for your situation. πŸ™‚

    • ashok baktha
    • September 9th, 2010

    Federer is the epitome of passion, hardwork and focus – a karma yogi?

    But even the GodOfTennis (Federer) cried like a baby when he did not win against Nadal.

    So, what gives?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

