Visual Tour -Munnar

We ,my family,went to Munnar a few weeks ago.The snaps were waiting for salvation ,and I am glad that they are posted atleast now..Click on each image to see the enlarged picture.

Now that Reema has asked why there is no detailed tavelogue,(i had to check online dictionary to know what travelogue means 😦 )I have to admit that I am bad in describing travel,movies and like.Still ,inspired by her,will make a first attempt.

We were five,and started off in our car,i20. Its a journey of 2.5-3 hours.After you reach Neryamangalam,it is forest arean..The scenic beauty cannot be described through my petty words..You see monkeys here and there.You see unknown,unseen plants and flowers. There are 3-4 small waterfalls,but since it was winter(January) there was hardly any water in those waterfalls 🙂

Adimali is the town,nearest to Munnar,and there is a journey of 45 minutes from Adimaly to Munnar.Again,your eyes and heart is filled with the joy of watching places on either side.You don’t know whether t look left or right,somehow you are in a greed to grab all moments.Its a pleasure ,or rather a blessing to have made such a journey. We stopped in between to buy snacks . Fida slept for a while and my newly wed sister and her husband were sharing sweet smiles and we all were thankful to God,for having made such a beautiful nature.Inside my mind,I was praising my Lord ,for giving me eyes and proper vision,so that I could se e and enjoy the world around. I don’t know,at odd times ,I am unreasonably emotional 🙂

Reached there by evening6.00pm (we started by 3.30pm or so) .On the way,we saw Kanan Devan hills,Lechmi Tea Gardens..The car moved for around 30 + minutes through the garden,to reach our destination-Blackberry Hills,Munnar. I didn’t know which frame to capture and which to leave out.The resort was superb,both in quantity and quality..The resort makes you feel even more comfortable and the cottages are really neat and cool. The dinner was indeed good and it was slowly getting cold outside,on a comfortable level.. We all enjoyed the cool breeze and since my baby is not that fit and old enough to accommodate such a climate for long time,I left to room and slept.No idea when the rest came to sleep..

Woke up eaaaaarly morning,say 8.00 am 🙂 ,we had a fantastic light breakfast,the english+ kerala way. Left to Top-stattion,the highest point in that arean..It was about 40 mnts journey,and Mattupetty, is on the way.Spent some time there,nearby the dam,and made some small shopping.On way to Top-station,saw some fields(vegetables) at Yellapetty .cool name isn’t it? 🙂 We stopped there and smiled at ladies working i the field and asked for permission to enter.Though they were reluctant,our wider smile made them to permit us to enter the field. It was my first experience going to such a place and I throughly enjoyed it..I ,again,thanked God,for fulfilling my lifetime-dream.I am so fascinated with farmhouses and gardens,that my wish for a travel ends up visiting a nursery or field. Saw growing Carrots,Cabbages,Coriander leaves,Garlis,Peas, Green chilly etc etc. Thanked all of them and we continued our journey to top-station. Honestly,I didn’t find top-station exciting,bcoz it is too adventurous for me.Also,the infinte steps,made me tired and I had to stop every 5 steps,to ahve a proper breath.On the contrary,everybody else enjoyed it a lot..It is the meeting point of two biggest hills,and also,it is Kerala-Tamilnadu border.. We had burnt-corn spiced with lemon and chilly…hhhmmm,that was too tasty..(my mouth is watering now)..

After spending two hours there,we started back by 5 pm or so..On way back,the Matupetty-Dam shutters were open and the waterflow was too good to see. Made our way back through Munnar, Adimaly, Neryamangalam……to our home,sweet home,where my Mom and Dad were waiting anxiously for us. We all were so tired that we extented the travelogue to the next day..And it now,I remember that I never bothered to talk to them,all this waht I said now 😦 I am a bad daughter.They might have felt bad,but I never bothered.. Nevermind,will show them the snaps now.. Better late than never

Aha..I have ranted an essay..Sorry guys 🙂

When I went to Munnar ,about 4-5 months back,with my in-laws,I visited Thekkady too..The route was so sweet,so nice,I can’t describe it..We were covered with mist from all sides and we had to stop driving..Its was like as if in a movie ,and I couldn’t believe that I am “here and now”….Will post the snaps of that journey later..That one was more exciting and more beautiful than this one.. 🙂

Now tell me that all snaps are really coooool 😉

How to reach Munnar :

How to reach Munnar:

Driving up to Munnar can be adventurous, especially if you are driving. As you go up slowly through the narrow winding roads, you will see all the shades of green that God created. From the lush carpets of the tea bushes to the silver green of the oak it is all there on the mountains of Munnar.

If you are determined to reach Munnar in record time and you are traveling in a reasonably good car, it takes about 4 hrs from Kochi which is approximately 136 km away. The Ernakulam – Munnar route extends through Thripunithra, Muvattupuzha, Kothamangalam, Neriamangalam, Adimali and Pallivasal.

Private and government operated (KSRTC – Kerala State Road Transport Corporation) buses are available to various locations of Kerala. Buses are the cheapest form of transport to Munnar. Regular bus services to Tamil Nadu (towns like Theni, Kumbam, Madurai and Coimbatore) are operated by Tamil Nadu and Kerala Governments.

KSRTC has a bus station at the south of the town. Town bus stand is located in the modern new bazar.

Tourist Cars, Jeeps and Auto rikshaws available for getting around. Bicycles and bikes are also available for daily rent.

Munnar has 4 major roads:

Kochi road, Thekkady road, Top Station road, Marayoor road

Distance Chart:

Munnar – Ernakulam (135km) 4 1/2 hours

Munnar – Thekkady (110km) 4 hours

Munnar – Thiruvananthapuram (300km) 9 hours

Munnar – Palani (120km)

Munnar – Coimbatore (150km) 6 hours

Munnar – Madurai ( km) 6 hours

  1. wow!! such a beautiful place. no travelogue?

      • Nimmy
      • March 25th, 2010

      🙂 Thanks for the inspiration..Do vsit this place..

    • Kanagu
    • March 23rd, 2010

    Wonderfully described sister… No exaggeration.. 🙂 🙂 the snaps are really superb… 🙂 Have been to Munnar twice and i enjoyed immensely 🙂 🙂 and I am going again by next month 🙂 🙂

      • Swaram
      • March 24th, 2010

      Woohoo! 3rd time 🙄

      • Nimmy
      • March 25th, 2010

      Cool.. Thanks for your nice words Bro… 🙂

    • Kanagu
    • March 23rd, 2010

    Wonderfully described sister… No exaggeration.. 🙂 🙂 the snaps are really superb… 🙂 Have been to Munnar twice and i enjoyed immensely 🙂 🙂 and I am going again by next month 🙂 🙂 🙂

  2. Ok, Im telling you all snaps are cool !!! More than the post and the snaps, I liked your idea of including the map and the ways to reach the place !!! 😀 😀 😀 This would help geographically handicapped people like me ! 😀

    • Vimmuu saar! even with the map in hand you have a track record of getting lost no?!!!!! 😛 😛 😉

        • Swaram
        • March 24th, 2010

        Let alone map … even with ppl who know the place well, he cn get lost 😛

      • LOL. yeah, yeah !!! 😀 😀 😀

      • Nimmy
      • March 25th, 2010

      🙂

  3. You should do these more often!
    That was a wonderful description 🙂
    And the photos were lovely! 🙂

  4. Munnar is a very nice place .. never managed to go there . planning for ages 😦

    • Swaram
    • March 24th, 2010

    Essay u say .. luved it I say 😛
    Lovely post n awesome pics .. makes me wanna go there again 🙂

    • Nimmy
    • March 25th, 2010

    @Dinu,Pixie and Swaram,I wish we all would meet at Munnar one day 🙂

    Good day to all

  5. Beautiful pics Nimmy! Love all the greenery…balm for the eyes of a sun burnt Delhiite:)
    great idea to include the map.

    Have heard so much about Munnar…another blogger Monika too loves the place…I want to go there someday!

  6. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of any widgets I could add to my blog that
    automatically tweet my newest twitter updates. I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you
    would have some experience with something like this.
    Please let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new updates.

Leave a Reply

